Skip to main content

Dr. Meredith Bailey Takes Office as MDS President

July 12, 2021 – The Massachusetts Dental Society (MDS) is pleased to welcome Meredith A. Bailey, DMD, as its 158th President for the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 governance years. Dr. Bailey, who is a group practice leader in the department of general dentistry at the Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine, was ceremonially sworn in as President during the MDS House of Delegates Annual Session held virtually on January 27, 2021. Dr. Bailey took office on July 1, 2021.

Only the fifth woman to serve as President in MDS history, Dr. Bailey succeeds MaryJane Hanlon, DMD, who will continue to serve on the MDS Board of Trustees as Immediate Past President.

“We are thrilled to welcome Dr. Meredith Bailey as President of the Massachusetts Dental Society,” said Kevin C. Monteiro, CAE, MDS Executive Director. “Dr. Bailey’s expertise will support MDS in continuing to advance the profession of dentistry and championing oral health in the Commonwealth over the next two years.”

For the last two years, Dr. Bailey has served on the MDS Board of Trustees as the first two-year term Vice President under the new governance reform and as Chair of the Committee of District Chairs and Chair-Elects. She has served in various capacities at the state level over the years. Notably, Dr. Bailey was a founding member and Chair of the fourteenth district of the MDS created in 2015—the Boston District Dental Society.

At the national level, Dr. Bailey represents the First District of the American Dental Association (ADA) and serves as Vice Chair of the ADA Council on Ethics, Bylaws, and Judicial Affairs. She is also Chair of the Administrative and Policy subcommittee and an observer on the ADA Standards Committee on Dental Informatics, Working Group 13.8 Augmented Intelligence. 

Dr. Bailey is a fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

Dr. Bailey holds a Doctor of Dental Medicine degree from Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine and a certificate in Advanced Education in General Dentistry from the University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine. She received her bachelor’s degree in Biology from James Madison University and is currently a candidate for a master’s in Business Administration from Boston University Questrom School of Business.

The 2021-2021 MDS Board of Directors is comprised of the following individuals:
  • Dr. Meredith A. Bailey – President
  • Dr. Abe Abdulwaheed – Vice President
  • Dr. Raymond K. Martin – Speaker of the House
  • Dr. Jennifer Korzeb – Treasurer
  • Dr. James Lee – Secretary
  • Dr. MaryJane Hanlon – Immediate Past President
  • Dr. Mary C. DeMello – Trustee
  • Dr. Paul J.R. Gamache – Trustee
  • Dr. John P. Gusha – Trustee
  • Dr. Michael A Mayr – Trustee
  • Dr. Paul M. McGrath – Trustee
  • Dr. Maritza Morell – Trustee
  • Dr. Neha Monica Das – At-Large Trustee
  • Dr. Elizabeth Alpert – Guest Board Member
  • Dr. Ana Keohane – Guest Board Member
  • Dr. Dylan James Weber – Guest Board Member
  • Dr. David Charles Zaluski – Guest Board Member