Skip to main content

Task Forces

The Task Forces below were active during the 2021-2022 governance year. The MDS Board of Trustees will be determining the Task Forces that will be appointed for the coming governance year over the summer.

Communications Task Force

The Communications Task Force was created in July 2021 by MDS President Dr. Meredith Bailey.

COVID-19 Resurgence Task Force

MDS President Dr. MaryJane Hanlon appointed a task force in August 2020 to develop a plan to help keep dental offices and clinics in Massachusetts open should there be a resurgence of COVID-19 cases.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force

To this date, the MDS admits that it has not done enough within our own organization and profession to ensure diversity and inclusivity. This failure does not go unrecognized, and that is why we are announcing a task force to develop a robust policy in this area and to assist with ongoing conversations with members regarding equity and racial justice.

Governance Task Force

In 2018, then-President Howard Zolot appointed a Governance Implementation Task Force to continue the mission to propel the Society forward with this governance transition. Under the leadership of Chair Dr. Mina Paul, the Task Force was charged with creating the governance implementation plan. The plan calls for a two-year phase-in, which when completed in 2021, will result in a nimble Board of Trustees consisting of six Regional Trustees, one At-Large Trustee, President, Vice President, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer,* Speaker of the House,* and Executive Director.* The size of the House of Delegates has also been reduced and the Annual Session will now convene in January of each year instead of the previous June timeframe.

MassHealth Task Force

MDS President Dr. Meredith Bailey created the MassHealth Task Force in December 2021 and charged the Task Force with evaluating the MassHealth reimbursement rates and covered services, provider engagement, and collaboration with MassHealth and the Massachusetts Medical Society to improve access to care and health.