Board and Executive Management

Massachusetts Dental Society

Two Willow Street
Suite 200
Southborough, MA 01745

(800) 342-8747
(508) 480-0002 fax

Officers and Trustees

Membership is Your Advantage

MAC Van thumbnail

Use the MDS Logo on your professional materials.

download now.

Looking for a Meeting?

Check the MDS Calendar for council, committee, CE, and district meetings.

Go to MDS Calendar


Society Governance

The MDS Board of Trustees is composed of the Officers (President, President-Elect, Vice President, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Speaker of the House, and Immediate Past President) and one Trustee from each of the 13 Massachusetts District Dental Societies. Staff is overseen by the Executive Director. 


Officers ¦ Trustees ¦ Guest Board Members ¦ Staff ¦ Vision, Mission and Strategic Goals



Officers (2014-2015)

Officers of the MDS are nominated by the Council on Nominations and elected by the House of Delegates at the Annual Session.


Anthony Giamberardino Edward Swiderski, DDS Raymond Martin

Anthony N. Giamberardino, DMD  

Edward Swiderski, DDS

Vice President
Raymond K. Martin, DDS

Charles Silvius Janis Moriarty Howard Zolot

Speaker of the House
Charles L. Silvius, DDS   

Janis C. Moriarty, DMD

Howard M. Zolot, DMD 

Tom Trowbridge Michael Wasserman David B. Becker, DMD

Assistant Treasurer
Thomas A. Trowbridge, DDS, MD

Immediate Past President
Michael H Wasserman, DDS

David Becker, DMD

Go to top



Trustees (2014-2015)

Each of the 13 District Dental Societies in the MDS elects one Trustee to the MDS Board for a three-year term that can be renewed once.


Wise Raymond Jay Richard Marchand
Tofigh Raayai

Raymond (Jay) Wise, DDS

Cape Cod
Richard D. Marchand, DMD

East Middlesex
 Tofigh Raayai, DMD 

John Boss
Hanlon Rogers2

Merrimack Valley
John Boss, DDS

Neela Gandhi, DMD

Mary Jane Hanlon, DMD

Michael Arrigo Peter Hjorth Mark Doherty

North Metropolitan
Michael Arrigo, DMD

North Shore
 N. Peter Hjorth, DMD

Mark Doherty, DMD

David Lustbader Dr Welch Arthur_Eddy

South Shore
David P. Lustbader, DMD

Edward J. Welch, DDS

Arthur Eddy, DMD

Philip Howells


Philip Howells, DDS

Go to top



Guest Board Members (2014-2015)

The Guest Board Member Program was launched in February 2006 as a means to encourage the expansion of the diversity and multicultural demographics of the Board to better reflect the membership of the Society and to encourage involvement in the MDS and organized dentistry. Each governing year, four MDS members are selected to attend Board of Trustee meetings and participate in discussions in a nonvoting capacity.


Abdulwaheed Cooper  

Abdullaibrahim Abdulwaheed, DMD

Michael A. Cooper, DMD




Romesh Priyanthan Nalliah, DDS


Go to top



Senior Staff

Below is a list of senior staff members.  A full staff list by department is found in the member-only area of the site.


Bob Boose 2013
Robert E. Boose, EdD
Executive Director

Karen Rafeld
Karen Rafeld
Assistant Executive Director, Senior Policy Advisor

Kathleen M. Boyce, CPA
Chief Financial Officer

Lois Holt
Lois Holt
Senior Director, Executive Office Operations

Scott Davis
Scott G. Davis
Chief Communications Officer

Marc Kaplan 2
Marc Kaplan, CAE
Director, Membership

Maryellen Geurtsen 10
Maryellen Geurtsen
Director, Yankee Operations

McCarthy Shannon 2010
Shannon McCarthy
Director, Sales

Dorrey Powers

Director, Continuing Education

David White, Esq.
David White, Esq.
Director, Governmental Affairs and Grassroots Advocacy

Alisa Ufland
Alisa Ufland

Director of Marketing

Jesse Mirenda 10
Jesse Mirenda
Director, Information Technology Services

Ellen Factor
Ellen Factor
Director of Dental Practice

Melissa Carman 06
Melissa Carman
Director of Publications

Go to top